The Federal Government of Ethiopia
scroll down


The Executive, Legislative and Judicial branches of the Government of Ethiopia are governed under the Constitution of the Federal Democratic Republic of Ethiopia adopted in 1995. The Constitution established a federation of nine National Regional States drawn along the lines of Ethiopia’s major ethno-linguistic nations and nationalities along with two chartered cities (Addis Ababa/Finfinne and Dire Dawa). The nine Regional States include: Afar, Amhara, Benishangul-Gumuz, Gambella, Harar, Oromia, Somali, SNNPNRS (in full the Southern Nations, Nationalities, and Peoples’ National Regional State) and Tigray.

The Government of the Federal Democratic Republic of Ethiopia is led by the Prime Minister, who selects all the remaining ministers in the Cabinet, also known as the Council of Ministers. The Prime Minister is designated by the party which wins a majority of seats in the 547-seat lower House of People’s Representatives (HoPR) which is elected for five-year terms in single-seat constituencies. The bicameral Federal Parliamentary Assembly is constituted by both the HoPR and the upper House of Federation (HoF) made up of 112 members elected by the State Councils. The HoPR also elects the President of Ethiopia, the country’s Head of State, who serves in six-year terms.

The Ethiopian People’s Revolutionary Democratic Front (EPRDF), the party currently in government, is a coalition of parties formed of four political parties (Amhara National Democratic Movement [ANDM], Oromo People’s Democratic Organisation [OPDO], Southern Ethiopian People’s Democratic Movement [SEPDM], Tigray Peoples Liberation Front [TPLF]) and five affiliated regional parties.

The EPRDF affiliated umbrella parties include the Afar National Democratic Party (ANDP), Ethiopian Somali People’s Democratic Party (ESPDP), Harari National League (HNL), Benishangul/Gumuz Peoples Democratic Unity Front (BGPDUF) and Gambella Peoples Democratic Party (GPDP).

Members of the Government of the Federal Democratic Republic of Ethiopia:

Cabinet Minister Role
Mulatu Teshome (PhD) (OPDO/EPRDF) President
Abiy Ahmed (PhD) (OPDO/EPRDF) Prime Minister
Demeke Mekonnen (ANDM/EPRDF) Deputy Prime Minister
Workneh Gebeyehu (PhD) (OPDO/EPRDF) Minister of Foreign Affairs
Uba Mohammed (ESPDP) Minister of Communication and Information Technology
Motuma Mekassa (OPDO/EPRDF) Minister of Defense
Tilaye Gete (PhD) (ANDM/EPRDF) Minister of Education
Shiferaw Shigute (SEPDM/EPRDF) Minister of Agriculture and Livestock
Kebede Chane (ANDM/EPRDF) Minister of Federal Affairs and Pastoralist Area Development
Abreham Tekesete (PhD) (TPLF/EPRDF) Minister of Finance and Economic Cooperation
Amir Aman (PhD) (ANDM/EPRDF) Minister of Health
Ambachew Mekonnen (PhD) (ANDM/EPRDF) Minister of Industry
Siraj Fegessa (SEPDM/EPRDF) Minister of Transport
Jantrar Abay (ANDM/EPRDF) Minister of Urban Development and Housing
Gemeda Dole (PhD) (OPDO/EPRDF) Minister of Environment, Forest Development, and Climate Change
Getahun Mekuria (PhD) (Eng.) (OPDO/EPRDF) Minister of Science and Technology
Tagese Chafo (SEPDM/EPRDF) Minister of Public Service and Human Resource
Yealem Tsegaye (TPLF/EPRDF) Minister of Women and Children Affairs
Melaku Alebel (ANDM/EPRDF) Minister of Trade
Sileshi Bekele (PhD) (Eng.) (no party affiliation) Minister of Water, Irrigation and Electricity
Meles Alemu (SEPDM/EPRDF) Minister of Mines, Petroleum, and Natural Gas
Fozia Amin (OPDO/EPRDF) Minister of Culture and Tourism
Teshome Toga (Ambassador) (SEPDM/EPRDF) Minister of State Enterprises
Hirut Woldemariam (PhD) (SEPDM/EPRDF) Minister of Labour and Social Affairs
Restu Yirdaw (SEPDM/EPRDF) Minister of Youth and Sports
Berhanu Tsegaye (OPDO/EPRDF) Attorney General with the rank of Minister
Ahmed Shide (ESPDP) Head of Government Communication Affairs Office (GCAO) with the rank of Minister
Umar Hussein (OPDO/EPRDF) Director General of Ethiopian Revenues & Customs Authority (ERCA) with the rank of Minister
Asmelash Woldeselassie (TPLF/EPRDF) Chief Government Whip at the House of People’s Representatives with the rank of Minister
Yinager Desie (ANDM/EPRDF) Commissioner of National Plan Commission with the rank of Minister
Fetlework Gebregziabher (TPLF/EPRDF) Chief Coordinator at Democratic System Building Coordination Centre with the rank of Minister

Related News

Browse all
The weekly publication from the Ministry of Foreign Affairs in Ethiopia.
20 Apr 2018
A Week in the Horn
PM Abiy appoints 16 cabinet ministers as part of the reform process to address public grievances.
19 Apr 2018
PM Abiy Announces New Cabinet
Founded in 2010, EthioChicken took over an under-performing poultry production centre in the Tigray region of northern Ethiopia, increasing production more than thirty-fold within a year. It has since expanded into four regions of Ethiopia, with production centres nationwide. We recently caught up with Joseph Shields, General Manager of EthioChicken, for an exclusive interview.
11 Apr 2018
EthioChicken wins FT’s Boldness in Business Award: Exclusive Interview
In recent weeks, an extraordinary set of meetings, involving members of the ruling Ethiopian People’s Revolutionary Democratic Front (EPRDF), have been taking place in Addis Ababa. The meetings, of both the Executive Committee and the Council of the Front, have spent the last few weeks deliberating on the current state of affairs in the country while appraising the progress of…
9 Apr 2018
Election of New Premier Represents Major Milestone for Ethiopia’s Democracy
PRESS RELEASE Spurred by the prevailing exemplary relations between the Federal Democratic Republic of Ethiopia (FDRE) and the Government of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, the Ethiopian Embassy in London has been engaged proactively with the Victoria and Albert Museum, London (V&A) in an effort to explore avenues for cooperation. To this end, the Embassy warmly welcomes and greatly appreciates…
5 Apr 2018
Ambassador Hailemichael opens ‘Maqdala 1868’ display at the V&A
Effective Monday, 9 April 2018, the Consular Section will be open from 9.00am - 3.00pm.
5 Apr 2018
New Consular Opening Times
On 2nd April, Dr Abiy Ahmed was sworn in as Ethiopia's new Prime Minister following outgoing Prime Minister Hailemariam Dessalegn's resignation from the chairmanship of EPRDF. PM Abiy delivered his inaugural speech to a packed House of Peoples Representatives, which included members of the diplomatic corps and invited leaders of the opposition.
3 Apr 2018
Dr Abiy Ahmed Sworn in as Ethiopia’s Prime Minister
Dr Abiy Ahmed has been elected as the new chairperson of Ethiopia's ruling coalition, EPRDF. Demeke Mekonnen will retain his post as Deputy Chairperson of EPRDF.
28 Mar 2018
EPRDF elects Dr Abiy Ahmed as new leader
African Union Member States sign the African Continental Free Trade Area Agreement, the biggest free trade agreement since the establishment of the World Trade Organisation.
26 Mar 2018
Ethiopia joins African countries in historic intra-Africa trade agreement
Ethiopia will host the 53rd session of the International Sugar Council from 25th - 28th June 2018. Interested parties can see the programme as well as the events and hotel and visa information. 
19 Mar 2018
53rd Session of the International Sugar Council
The weekly publication from the Ministry of Foreign Affairs in Ethiopia.
16 Mar 2018
A Week in the Horn