About Us
scroll down

The Embassy

The Embassy's main objective is to further cement the amicable bilateral ties between Ethiopia and the United Kingdom, which date back to 1903.

The Embassy carries out official diplomatic activities and serves as a vital resource for Ethiopians in the United Kingdom as well as partners and friends of Ethiopia.

H.E. Mr Teferi Melesse Desta

Ambassador Teferi Melesse assumed his post in London in September 2020.

He joined the Ethiopian Ministry of Foreign Affairs in 1993 and as a career diplomat, has served at diplomatic missions to the People’s Republic of China in Guangzhou (Consul General 2018 – 2020); in Brussels, Belgium (Minister Counsellor 2010 – 2014); Harare, Zimbabwe (Chargé d’Affaires 1999 – 2000); in Geneva at the United Nations as Chargé d’Affaires in 1998 and Consul General between 1994 and 2001.

In between, he was assigned to various posts within the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, including as Director General, Public Diplomacy and Communications (2016 – 2017); Minister’s Chief Advisor on Capacity Building (2014 – 2016); Acting Director General, Public Diplomacy and Communications (2008 – 2010); Director-General, Ethiopian Expatriate Affairs (2001 – 2008) and Counsellor, Press, Information and Documentation Directorate General (1993 – 1994).

Teferi Melesse Desta holds an MA in Literature (1994) and a Bachelor of Arts in Ethiopian Languages and Literature (1986), both from the University of Addis Ababa, Ethiopia.

Follow the Ambassador on Twitter | Facebook | Instagram

  • Previous Ambassadors

    H.E. Mr Fesseha Shawel Gebre (2019 – 2020)

    H.E. Dr Hailemichael Aberra Afework (2016 – 2019)

    H.E. Mr Berhanu Kebede (2006 – 2016)

    H.E. Mr Fisseha Adugna (2002 – 2006)

    H.E. Dr Beyene Negewo (1999 – 2002)

    H.E. Dr Solomon Gidada (1992 – 1999)

    H.E. Mr Teferra Haile-Selassie (1985 – 1992)

    H.E. Mr Ayalew Wolde-Giorgis (1977 – 1985)

    H.E. Mr Zaudie Makusia (1976 – 1977)

    H.E. Lieutenant-General Iyassu Mengesha (1970 – 1976)

    H.E. Mr Gebre Meskel Kiflegzy (1966 – 1970)

    H.E. Mr Haddis Alemayehu (1961 – 1966)

    H.E. Lij Endalkachew Mekonnen (1960-1961)

    H.E. Mr Emmanuel Abraham (1956 – 1960)

    H.E. Mr Abebe Retta (1949 – 1956)

    H.E. Mr Belata Ayele Gebre (1942 – 1949)

    H.E. Dr Worqneh C. Martin (1937 – 1942)

Mr. Beyene Gebremeskel

Mr Gebremeskel assumed his post in London in January 2021.

Overseeing the Business Diplomacy Department, Mr. Gebremeskel’s priorities will focus on enhancing Ethio-UK relations especially in trade and investment, institutional partnerships, technical and skills transfer, and cultural heritage.

Before his role in London, Mr. Gebremeskel was Director-General of the Public Enterprises Holding and Administration Agency, where he oversaw the management of 21 state-owned enterprises.

With nearly 35 years of government service under his belt, Mr. Beyene has served at various agencies including the former Ethiopian Science and Technology Commission;  the former Engineering Design and Tool Centre/Enterprise; and as Director-General at the Public Enterprises Supervising Authority. Mr. Beyene was also State Minister at the Ministry of Public Enterprises, which is now the Public Enterprises Holding and Administration Agency.

He has also led various investment promotion tours to Asia, Middle East, Europe, and Africa.

  • Previous Deputy Heads of Mission

    Amb. Ababi Demissie (2018 – 2020)

Prof John Struthers

Professor John Struthers was appointed Ethiopia’s Honorary Consul for Scotland in April 2015. He is the Director of CAREED – the Centre for African Research for Enterprise and Economic Development – at the University of the West of Scotland (UWS). John helps establish links between the Embassy and Scottish academia, business and the political establishment, encouraging trade, investment, education and skills transfer between Scotland and Ethiopia. One success has been the commencement in Ethiopia of a geo-thermal project supported by Glasgow University.

Follow John on Twitter.

The Departments

Public Diplomacy and Communications

Responsible for coordinating the Embassy's media relations, promoting Ethiopia's image in the United Kingdom and facilitating educational partnerships between higher learning insitutions in both countries. The Public Diplomacy Department is the first port-of-call for all media enquiries.

Mr Mekonnen Amare - Minister

020 7589 7212 | 0203 815 9251

Diaspora Engagement

Responsible for coordinating the Embassy's engagement with the Ethiopian diaspora in the UK. The Department encourages the Diaspora to engage with Ethiopia, culturally, economically, and through skills and knowledge transfer initiatives.


020 7589 7212 / 02038466682

Economic and Business Diplomacy

Responsible for coordinating the Embassy's trade and investment activities and promoting Ethiopian tourism. The Department assists with enquiries from businesses that are looking to expand, or initiate, their activities in Ethiopia and works to increase trade relations between Ethiopia and the United Kingdom.

Workaferahu Aklilu - Minister Counsellor

020 7589 7212 / 0207 838 3870

Consular Department

Responsible for issuing formal documents such as POA, laissez-passers, and for formalising documents. The Department has jurisdiction over the United Kingdom: England, Wales, Scotland, and Northern Ireland.

Mr. Sultan Abagisa - Minister Counsellor

020 7589 7212 / 02078383888 | ca@ethioembassy.org.uk

Administration and Finance

Responsible for overseeing the smooth running of the embassy and for all matters related to finance, both internal and external.

Political and Economic Affairs

Responsible for strengthening the political and economic relations between Ethiopia and the United Kingdom.

Ambassador Wubishet Demissie

0207 589 7212 / 0207 838 3871

Mr Dagnachew Werku and Ms. Samrawit G/Mesekel - First Secretary

0207 838 3874
The Ambassador, Diplomats and Embassy Staff

Employment Opportunities

Work at the Ethiopian Embassy in London

Information on current vacancies and how to apply.

How to Find Us

The Embassy is located on Princes Gate overlooking Hyde Park on Kensington Road.


17 Princes Gate, Knightsbridge
London SW7 1PZ

0207 589 7212

Embassy Opening Times

Monday to Friday
09:30 - 17:00

Consular Opening Times

Monday to Friday
09:30 - 16:00